

Minute 2

I - Introduction

On the 18th day of August two thousand and twenty two, at 9 hours and 30 minutes the jury nominated by the CCMAR board of Directors on 25/05/2022, met by video conference, for the meeting 2 of the call Ref. CCMAR/BIC/15/2022. The meeting was held for the award of 10 Research Fellowships (Scientific Initiation Fellowship – BIC) through the research project MARAFRICA "A network monitoring, integrating and assessing marine biodiversity data along the west Africa to understand, predict and mitigate climatic / oceanographic changes." reference no 540316524 funded by Aga Khan, Network for Development and the Portuguese Foundation for Science and Technology, I.P.. The jury, included Professor Ester Serrão, Professor at Algarve University, coordinator of the project at CCMAR and researcher and team leader at CCMAR (President); Professor Karim Erzini, Professor at Algarve University and researcher and team leader at CCMAR (member); Professor Alexandra Teodósio, Vice- Rector at Algarve University and researcher and team leader at CCMAR (member) and had the following agenda items: admission and evaluation of applications admitted to the fellowship CCMAR/BIC/15/2022.

II - Candidates

9 applications were received for the position:

- 1. Filipe Tobana Nhanquê
- 2. LESSYN NDEUYAKUYE KALWENYA
- 3. Jairson Varela Veiga
- 4. Jerónimo da Graça Bastos
- 5. Wadmilton Manuel da Trindade Fernandes
- 6. Diana Seck
- 7. morgane piu
- 8. Alexandro Autiero
- 9. Shakiba Gholami

III - Exclusion of applications

The jury analysed the applications, considering the mandatory requirements and documents, and decided to accept all candidates.

Thus, 9 candidates were admitted to the evaluation and ranking phase (Table 2).

Table 1. Candidates admitted and proposed for the evaluation and ranking phase.

Filipe Tobana Nhanquê
LESSYN NDEUYAKUYE KALWENYA
Jairson Varela Veiga
Jerónimo da Graça Bastos
Wadmilton Manuel da Trindade Fernandes
Diana Seck

morgane piu
Alexandro Autiero
Shakiba Gholami

IV - Evaluation of applications

The Jury evaluated the application documents of the eligible candidate (Table 2) and applied the classification criteria and weighting factors set out in the vacancy announcement as shown in table 3 below:

Table 2. Table with the evaluation of applications.

Candidate		Criterion 1	Criterion 2	Final
				Classification
1	Filipe Tobana Nhanquê	19	20	19.5
2	LESSYN NDEUYAKUYE KALWENYA	17	20	18.5
3	Jairson Varela Veiga	17	20	18.5
4	Jerónimo da Graça Bastos	13	20	16.5
5	Wadmilton Manuel da Trindade Fernandes	12	20	16
6	Diana Seck	11	20	15.5
7	Morgane Piu	16	0	8
8	Alexandro Autiero	10	0	5
9	Shakiba Gholami	0	0	0

Evaluation criteria and respective weighting:

- 1. Experience relevant to the field of Marine Biodiversity, Fisheries and Conservation 50 %
- 2. Experience working in countries of the Atlantic coast of Africa plus Mozambique 50 %

Note: The final grades in table 3 represent the average of the individual evaluation performed by each member of the jury, presented on a scale from 0 to 20, rounded to the nearest tenth.

Table 4 presents the overall classification in order of rank.

Table 4- Overall classification and ranking of the admitted applicants of call CCMAR/BIC/15/2022, indicating the final score.

Candidate	Final Classification	Ranking
Filipe Tobana Nhanquê	19.5	1
LESSYN NDEUYAKUYE KALWENYA	18.5	2
Jairson Varela Veiga	18.5	3
Jerónimo da Graça Bastos	16.5	4
Wadmilton Manuel da Trindade Fernandes	16	5
Diana Seck	15.5	6
Morgane Piu	8	7
Alexandro Autiero	5	8
Shakiba Gholami	0	9

V - Conclusion

After reconsidering existing circumstances and evaluating other supervening ones, which both lead to better project management, the Jury decided to award only 6 positions. Which will be awarded to the 6 best ranked applicants. Candidates Filipe Tobana Nhanquê, LESSYN NDEUYAKUYE KALWENYA, Jairson Varela Veiga, Jerónimo da Graça Bastos, Wadmilton Manuel da Trindade Fernandes, Diana Seck, have the highest classification (Table 4).

Considering the elements presented, candidates Filipe Tobana Nhanquê, LESSYN NDEUYAKUYE KALWENYA, Jairson Varela Veiga, Jerónimo da Graça Bastos, Wadmilton Manuel da Trindade Fernandes, Diana Seck, meet the conditions for the purposes of eventual selection, so the Jury proposes the ratification of this decision to the CCMAR Board.

The Jury will proceed to the right of prior hearing of the candidates, setting a deadline of 10 working days to claim what they consider to be convenient, whether in relation to scientific or procedural matters.

With no other item on the agenda, the meeting of which these minutes were drawn up was closed, with 3 pages, including annex, which after being read and approved were signed by the members of the jury.

Kai Eji

Professor Ester Serrão

Filer Sorra

Professor Karim Erzini

Professor Alexandra Teodósio

Annex

Statement of no conflict of interests

Call no. CCMAR/BIC/15/2022

We, the undersigned, fully understand the confidential nature of the assessment process and agree not to disclose or discuss its materials, nowhere, with no one, knowing the consequences of a misconduct.

We further declare that we have no direct or indirect financial, economic or personal interest that could compromise our impartiality and autonomy as members of this Jury.

Thus, we declare under word of honor that we will not evaluate candidates with whom we have a conflict of interest, for what we will require our immediate replacement.

Kai Ezi

Date: 18 August 2022

By the members of the Jury:

Professor Ester Serrão

Filer Serra

Professor Karim Erzini

Professor Alexandra Teodósio